Hooray for the CSA!

Emerald Stir Fry with Rice

Today I picked up this summer’s first share of the season.  This is my family’s second year with Farmer Dave’s CSA and I was so excited to open my bag of green goodness.

Emerald Stir Fry Ingredients

In honor of the start of the season, I created a stir fry rice dish packed with vitamins, and full of flavor. Try the recipe below for yourself!

Each bag full of vegetables is an invitation for my family to cook together. Once again we can plan weekly CSA dinners with  my parents, sharing our bounty. We will eat better and we will feel better. As I develop, uncover, and invent new ways of cooking my CSA veggies, I’ll be sure to share recipes and pictures of them here.


Emerald Stir Fry with Rice

2-3 Tbs. sesame oil
1 garlic scape, chopped
1 rib celery, chopped
1/2 C. fresh peas
2 C. bok choy, chopped
3 C. tsoi, chopped
1 tsp. fresh grated ginger
1 C. shitake mushrooms, sliced
1 egg
3 C. jasmine rice, cooked
1/8-1/4 C. tamari (to taste)

Emerald Stir Fry with Rice

Heat the oil in a wok or stir fry pan. Add the scape and cook for one minute. Add the celery and peas; cook for 2 minutes. Add the chopped greens and the grated  ginger. Cook for 3-5 minutes until wilted. Add mushrooms and beaten egg, cook for 2 minutes and remove from heat.

To a large bowl, add the cooked rice and the stir fried vegetables. Mix well and pour over the tamari. Serve warm.

Leave a Reply

